All Collections
Dental Intelligence Analytics
Follow Up Tasks
Follow Up Tasks: When Do Follow Up Tasks Close Automatically?
Follow Up Tasks: When Do Follow Up Tasks Close Automatically?

Learn more about when automatic Follow Up Tasks close and how you can set up manually created Follow Up Tasks to do the same

Sam Miller avatar
Written by Sam Miller
Updated this week

Analytics can complete AND delete automatic and manually created Follow Up Tasks--all you need to do is enable the appropriate setting. This can be achieved in just a few clicks!

In this article, we'll review:


Enable manually created Follow Up Tasks to be completed automatically

  1. Access Settings by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right corner

  2. Click on Follow Up Tasks on the left side of the page and then click to open Follow Up Task Settings

  3. Click on the desired Follow Up Task type

  4. Ensure that the toggle at the top of the slide out is activated (the switch will be green when it is enabled)

  5. If you would like manually created follow ups to complete automatically (in addition to auto-follow ups), be sure to click on the toggle (the switch will be green when it is enabled)


    Delete past due Follow Up Tasks automatically

  6. If you would like past due Follow Up Tasks to be deleted automatically after a certain period of time, click on the toggle to enable the setting. Then, enter the number of years/months/weeks/days past due that the task should be deleted


  7. Click Next to review the assignee for these follow ups, then click Save


What types of Follow Up Tasks are automatically completed?

Follow Up Tasks that are created automatically will also be completed automatically, regardless of their type.

However, Follow Up Tasks that are created manually must have the auto-complete manual Follow Up Tasks setting enabled in order to be completed automatically. If this setting is not enabled for each task type, manually created Follow Up Tasks must be completed manually as well.


When will Follow Up Tasks be automatically completed?

Follow Up Tasks are completed automatically during the nightly sync with your practice management system on the night that the requirements to close are met.

The requirements to complete the Follow Up Task are inverse of the requirement to automatically create them. If your practice has set up auto-delete settings to automatically delete past due Follow Up Tasks after a certain time period, those rules will apply.


Broken Appointments will be closed if any appointment get's scheduled for the patient, regardless if it has the same codes as the appointment that was broken.

Appointment Confirmations will be closed once the appointment has been completed.

Hygiene Recare will be closed once the patient is scheduled for a hygiene visit.

Unscheduled TX will only be closed if the future appointment is not hygiene. Click here to learn more about Unscheduled TX Follow Ups. Follow Ups only consider the patient as seen at the office based on the "Visit" logic. Click here to learn more about the differences between seen and visit metrics. This logic ONLY affects Unscheduled Treatment Follow Ups, since they are the only type that is based on when the patient had an appointment.

Past Due AR will be closed once the patient's balance has been collected and recorded in their ledger.

Past Due Claims will be closed once the insurance claim has been closed out in the practice management system.

Post Op and Other will not be deleted unless the auto-delete setting is enabled.

Did this answer your question?